Our Petition and Letter of Support

Submit a letter of support via Email or post.

Along with signing our petition below, fans and local Thurrock residents can also send a letter of support, via Email or post, for the return of the Hammers to the borough to Cllr. Mark Coxshall, the Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Strategic Highways, or any of the main Councillors at Thurrock Council.

The key contacts are listed below (each link next to the Councillor will launch their biography, which contains their e-mail address) along with the main postal address.

You can either write you own views and opinions of why the Hammers should return to Thurrock, or you can use a pre-drafted letter, please click on the Download now button below, and the draft letter will launch in Word.

Thurrock-Hammers speedway Letter of Support

Key Council Planning Contacts

Mark Coxshall: Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Strategic Highways. Email:

Postal address:
Civic Offices
New Road
RM17 6SL

Key Council Planning Members :

Tom Kelly (Chair) Planning Committee

Mike Fletcher (Vice Chair) Planning Committee


Support officer: Wendy Le, Democratic Services Officer. Email:

Main Council Contact details:

Phone: 01375 652107


Web site:

Additional key Councillors: 

Lyn Carpenter : Chief Executive: write to her at the Council

Andy Millard: Director of Place: contact same as Lyn Carpenter


The Planning Committee deals with matters relating to town and country planning and development control, including the determination of planning applications.

The meetings of the Planning Committees are public where elected councillors meet to decide whether planning applications are approved or refused.  Anyone can attend planning committee meetings and listen to the discussions.  Public seating is available and visitors can enter and leave the meeting for the applications in which they are interested.

The public can speak at the meetings of the Planning Committee before members of the committee take their decision. Anyone who has written to the council about a planning application will be contacted when it is due to go to committee, and told how they can speak at the committee.

There are two non-voting Co-Opted Members of the Planning Committee who are appointed each year by the Council:

  • One to represent the interests of trade and commerce in Thurrock; and
  • One to represent the interests of heritage and/or the countryside and conservation.

This meeting is open to the public, although in considering some items of business, the press and public may be requested to leave the meeting.

Our Petition

The Lakeside Hammers raced at the Arena Essex Raceway until September 2018 when the Raceway complex closed after being sold for re-development. The club’s licence is currently on ice whilst a new venue is sourced within the Thurrock district.

Speedway, which is a fantastic, family friendly sport, has run in the borough for over 30 years. Thurrock remains the ideal location for a new facility and is a growing community that deserves the exciting, top class sport that speedway provides.

We have a great relationship with Thurrock Council, but we still need to show local decision makers how much support the club enjoys.

We established an on-line petition, with the aim of reaching 5,000 signatures. Please click on the image to launch and sign the petition to support The Thurrock Hammers’ aim of returning to the Borough.

Thank you for your support.